Last updated: 25 November 2021

If you are using the Converse chatbot widget, resetting your chatbot on close is a feature you might want to consider.

When turned on, this feature will force-reset the conversation between your chatbot and its user when they close the chat window.

Turning this feature on has a few implications, keep reading to learn more.

Step 1: Turn ‘reset on close’ on

Go to EngageChannels.

Find Converse and click Options.

This feature only works on Converse.

Under the Main settings, tick the box Reset chatbot on close box.

Step 2: Test the reset

To test this, you must have a live chatbot set up on your website with a working license.

Go to your website and open the widget. Engage with the chatbot by sending a few messages, then click the X in the top right.

Re-open the chatbot and notice your entire chat history has disappeared. You should be thrown back at the start of the conversation, receiving the welcome message.

Step 3: Understand the implications of turning this feature on

Turning reset on close on allows you to control the chatbot experience every single time a user comes back to it. Your chatbot may, for instance, focus on answering HR questions. Resetting it on close every time provides a better experience for the user, allowing them to start fresh.

Here’s everything else you need to know about this feature.

1. Closing and re-opening a conversation will not create a new subscriber

Even though for the user it feels like they’re starting fresh, the platform doesn’t actually wipe their data clean upon closing the widget. If a user closes and re-opens the chat widget, their new interaction will be associated with their previous one.

2. Closing and re-opening a conversation renders the subscriber inactive

To continue from the last point, it’s important to know that your chatbot users will actually go inactive when they close the chat. Again, this doesn’t mean their data is wiped. It simply means the user is now inactive until they perform a new action (e.g. send a new message).

This has implications to the experience you would like to design for them when they re-open the chatbot.

Do you want them to receive the welcome message again? Best adapt your welcome conversation trigger to include AND when user is inactive AND when a message is not sent

Do you want them to receive a different message? Use the conditionals above to create a new ‘re-open’ conversation.

3. Users will lose their message history every time they close the chatbot

It is worth double-checking this is the experience you want for your users. If there’s a benefit for them to keep their chat history, you may want to turn this feature off.